DigComp Is Now DigComp 2.2

The Digital Competence Framework for Citizens (DigComp) has been updated. After a project carried out by the Joint Research Centre (JRC) on behalf of the European Commission, a new, more compact framework was adopted.

As defined by the European Commission, the Digital competency is one of the 8 key competences for successful longlife learning, along with: Multilingual competence; Personal, social and learning to learn competence; Citizenship competence; Entrepreneurship competence; Cultural awareness and expression competence; Mathematical competence and competence in science, technology and engineering; and Literacy competence.

The report that details the Digital Competence Framework for Citizens includes 250 new examples of KSAs (knowledge, skills and attitudes) meant to help understand better how to use the digital technologies in a more confident and safer way. These examples are easy to understand by anyone.

DigComp 2.2 includes 5 main components of the Digital competence, also known as Dimension 1 of the framework: Information and Data Literacy, Communication and Collaboration, Digital Content Creation, Safety, and Problem Solving. 21 competences correspond to these five competency areas.

Here is a presentation of the 5 areas from the JRC report:

Information and data literacy: To articulate information needs, to locate and retrieve digital data, information and content. To judge the relevance of the source and its content. To store, manage, and organise digital data, information and content.

Communication and collaboration: To interact, communicate and collaborate through digital technologies while being aware of cultural and generational diversity. To participate in society through public and private digital services and participatory citizenship. To manage one’s digital presence, identity and reputation.

Digital content creation: To create and edit digital content To improve and integrate information and content into an existing body of knowledge while understanding how copyright and licences are to be applied. To know how to give understandable instructions for a computer system.

Safety: To protect devices, content, personal data and privacy in digital environments. To protect physical and psychological health, and to be aware of digital technologies for social well-being and social inclusion. To be aware of the environmental impact of digital technologies and their use.

Problem solving: To identify needs and problems, and to resolve conceptual problems and problem situations in digital environments. To use digital tools to innovate processes and products. To keep up-to-date with the digital evolution.

The 4th component of Dimension 1, Safety, is particularly relevant to our ERASMUS+ project because it refers to the key KSAs that help citizens, students and teachers as well, protect their devices, their personal data and privacy, as well as have a healthy relationship with the digital technologies available to them.

Document: DigComp 2.2: The Digital Competence Framework for Citizens – With new examples of knowledge, skills and attitudes and training
Format: PDF
Available languages: EN



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *